A Day Of Vegan

I’ve received quite a few inquiries from friends and relatives about my efforts to work towards veganism after I briefly explained why it seems a bit hypocritical to stop simply with vegetarianism. And I am honest when I say that despite my cognitive recognition of facts and reality, it is hard for me to break through social and personal constructs to follow through on my beliefs. I’ve found that reading helps (doesn’t it always) because I have found blogs, websites and organizations that are tailored to those going through this transition, those attempting to extricate cruelty and unsustainability out of their lives. Turns out that I don’t just like cheese, I am addicted to casomorphins! I’m always looking for my next hit!

So I have decided to share with you weekly the menu of one successful day of eating vegan. Many days are mostly successful, other days are a total wash (pizza, damn you). But yesterday was a win, and I ate well and felt as satisfied as any normal day. Here is what I ate:

Breakfast: two pieces of toast with vegan butter substitute (even David loves it!) and cinnamon sugar, one apple, two cups of tea.

Snack: one banana.

Lunch: tomato soup with rice, one orange, one cup of tea.

Snack: two oranges.

Snack: celery with peanut butter, one cup of tea.

Snack: mixed nuts and raisins.

Dinner: homemade soup (vegetable broth, potatoes, lentils, celery and carrots), two cups of tea.

Snack: an orange, 1/2 a bar of Green and Black’s dark chocolate.

To answer your questions, yes I normally a) drink that much tea or more and b) eat that many snacks. I get hungry, ok? What’s most notably missing from that list that might normally have been in my diet before I was working towards eating vegan is perhaps cheese sprinkled on my tomato soup, or honey with my peanut butter, or lots more chocolate with less concern about whether there is milk on the ingredients list. While those changes are subtle, they can be hard to make. As soon as I know I ‘can’t’ have something, I want it more than ever. I have the mentality of a toddler.

6 thoughts on “A Day Of Vegan

  1. Well done!
    It’s really quite a big transformation. I started off great and have slipped here and there and 95% of my day is vegan but cheese has been one of my tough foods to let go of.

    You should be very proud of yourself. Every vegan meal helps. 🙂

  2. One of my new favorite restaurants in MQT -we’ll have a date here when you’re home in March my love, is the Rubiyat. (By the Coop)
    Just found out -my favorite dish there is vegan! Falafal wraps with sweet potato fries on the side for everyone!!! YUM

  3. Sis, I love cheese too!

    Abby, thanks! You are too kind!

    Jess, I know! We love that place, went a few times last summer. I would kill to eat a falafel with you right now!

    Caitlin, send a link! I am excited!

Leave a Reply

