Music on Monday: Oleander

For a while I’ll be devoting a post each Monday to music. Music I am loving now, music I loved before, music baby rocks out to, music I run with. Growing up, Dave and I were both turned into music lovers by our music loving parents. When we met, our shared love of a good song gave us a lot to talk about. We love folk music, bluegrass, rock, rap, country and even *GASP a hipster will faint somewhere when I type this* pop music. Sometimes, when under the influence of…life, we get weepy just thinking of all the music we will never have time to listen to. The injustice of it all!

Now that the baby is here, we’ve started to revisit a lot of our old favorites in order to introduce her to the best of the best. We’ve taken to iTunes with a new vigor, looking for new songs that we think will add to her musical education. So here, on Mondays, I’ll share with you some of the highlights. The soundtrack of our lives, if you will. The Traveling Circus Greatest Hits.

I’ll start with Sarah Harmer because she is probably the most played artist in our house. She rocked my world with Weeping Tile, crooned our wedding song, and sings this glorious little number that helps me through the initial loneliness of re-adjusting abroad. Nothing but Sarah Harmer can make me think of my best friend and so many of our special times together. My husband and our wedding vows. My baby girl, my past and present, her future.

If I ever get to meet her in person to thank her (let’s not count the times when I sat listening to her in the front row of a tiny venue drooling) I’ll probably get arrested for freaking her out. Enjoy.

One thought on “Music on Monday: Oleander

  1. I’m sure Sarah Harmsie doesn’t remember the ‘normal’ fans. Best to be crazy, grinning, giggling groupies -those are the ones I’m sure she thinks -I wish they were my friends… That’s what I tell myself.

Leave a Reply

