Music on Monday: Tightrope (Wondamix)

When listening to this song you should picture me dancing badly but madly around my kitchen, most likely in a bathrobe, possibly with a sippy cup of wine. Go ahead, get that image set. Got it? Ok then.

I’m always a sucker for music that can make me move while making me think. I love Janelle Monae’s 60s soul, her pop accessibility, her creativity and her committment to that tuxedo. She’s different and true to herself in a really quirky way that still leaves room for her actual, true, amazing talent to shine through. Like a Lady Gaga type of intensity about creativity, but without all the costumes. Also, she is a super serious sci-fi nerd (me too me too me too!) who believes in and advocates for time travel. In fact, her alter ego Cindi Mayweather from the year 2719 is an android. HOW COOL IS THAT!?

M.o.M. Past:

Sarah Harmer

Timbaland ft. The Hives

Rene and Jeremy

Elvis Perkins in Dearland

Brendan Benson

The White Stripes

2 thoughts on “Music on Monday: Tightrope (Wondamix)

Leave a Reply

