Music On Monday: Science Is Real

In the same way that I believe it’s crucial to expose baby to all kinds of food so that she doesn’t develop the typical kid-diet of macaroni and (soy)hot dogs, we’ve tried to expose her to all kinds of music that we love. I want her to hear it all and experience it and feel it and decide what she likes. Also, for reasons of sanity-preservation, I wanted to avoid too much traditional children’s music because Barney makes me suicidal and the Wiggles make me homicidal.

At some point, however, it became undeniable that the baby responds differently to actual children’s music than she does to our music. She does love the relaxing voice of Sarah Harmer and the bumping beats of the Black Keys, but when she hears Raffi, sister gets happy. Universe help me she really does like that sing-song, repetitive, goofy shit.

The next step was finding some children’s music that a) I could stomach and b) had some kind of learning involved.

I know she’s still a baby, but everyone tells me to talk to her like she understands everything. I am applying that same principle to music. I want her to hear lyrics that are fun, funny and have meaning. I’m setting the bar very high, I know.

Luckily I’ve found The Might Be Giants very early on, an experimental alternative band turned children’s music factory. Perfect. Our favorite album so far is Here Comes Science. Lovers all of things rational, educational, comical and musical will be forced to agree.

Although I may have struggled (cheated?) my way through the more difficult bits of chemistry, I’ve always loved science and excelled at it in school. That being said, I have actually had moments of learning (remembering?) while listening to this album. In ‘Meet the Elements’ I am told ‘silicone and oxygen make concrete bricks and glass’….say whaaaaaaaaaa? In ‘Why Does the Sun Really Shine?’ we learn ‘the sun is a miasma of incandescent plasma’ (note to self: must find more ways to use the word ‘miasma’) and ‘the sun is a red dwarf, I hope it never morphs.’ Me toooooooooooo!

The title track isn’t the most educational, but it has the peppy beat that our baby loves so much and lyrics that made mom and dad smile.

Science is real
From the Big Bang to DNA
Science is real
From evolution to the Milky Way

I like the stories
About angels, unicorns and elves
Now I like those stories
As much as anybody else

But when I’m seeking knowledge
Either simple or abstract
The facts are with science
The facts are with science

M.O.M. Past

Sarah Harmer

Timbaland ft. The Hives

Rene and Jeremy

Elvis Perkins in Dearland

Brendan Benson

The White Stripes

Janelle Monae

 

One thought on “Music On Monday: Science Is Real

  1. Awesome! Will have to look for their CD to further encourage Una’s recent transformation from being obsessed with all things pink, sparkly and princessy to asking Santa for a telescope and magnifying glass.

Leave a Reply

