Music On Monday: Baba O’Riley a.k.a. Teenage Wasteland

By request from my best friend back in Michigan, I’ve selected a song that she can use to please all comers of all ages in her spin class. Despite having a 7+ month old and a full-time job, she teaches spinning at a time that most, myself included, would consider the middle of the night. Such motivation!

As soon as she asked, I wrote down ‘Teenage Wasteland.’ Then I told my husband about her request and before I could explain that I already had the problem solved he said ‘Teenage Wasteland.’ Same wavelength everybody! Aren’t we cute?

I initially added this to my master running playlist over 5 years ago when my sister was training for a half-marathon and recommended this classic for training on hills. It’s seriously a motivational jackpot. The initial build-up, the incredible vocals, the liberal use of synthesizer. Enjoy.

M.O.M. Past:

Sarah Harmer

Timbaland ft. The Hives

Rene and Jeremy

Elvis Perkins in Dearland

Brendan Benson

The White Stripes

Janelle Monae

They Might Be Giants

Powderfinger

The Frames

Great Lake Swimmers

3 thoughts on “Music On Monday: Baba O’Riley a.k.a. Teenage Wasteland

  1. Best part is when Pete Townsend comes in to go: “Don’t cryyyy, don’t raise your eyeeee, it’s only teenage wasteland” and then they just rock it out like rockstars should. Dave.

Leave a Reply

