Music on Monday: Cinnamon and Chocolate

If you thought I was only going to do one holiday Music on Monday, you don’t know me very well! My WORD I love this genre of music. And usually I’m pretty hardcore about the classics. But I am not going to stick to traditional Christmas songs with blind loyalty because, let’s face it, Mariah Carey invented ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You’ and if you haven’t sung that song at the top of your voice while pointing to strangers lately, you aren’t living.

Australian artist Butterfly Boucher is an amazing musician and my ear always perks up when I hear she has something new coming. When I found out she went the original Christmas song route I was all ‘Don’t screw this up, Butt!’ (in my imagination we are really close friends and her nickname is Butt) and after a listen I discoverd :::spoiler alert::: she did not screw it up. ‘Cinnamon and Chocolate’ is a great holiday song and if you don’t find yourself loving it, listen again. You owe Butt that much at least.

Sidenote: Dave has a little (and by little I mean REALLY big) crush on Butt and I am so proud of him for that. He came out of his Christina Aguilera dressed-up-as-a-pin-up crush and improved his taste by like…10 million percent.

Sidenote 2: Wouldn’t it be weird to be Australian and all the Christmas movies and songs are about snow but it is summer at Christmas? Since Butt is Australian I will ask her about this next time we are hanging out together, just jammin’.

M.O.M. Past:

Sarah Harmer

Timbaland ft. The Hives

Rene and Jeremy

Elvis Perkins in Dearland

Brendan Benson

The White Stripes

Janelle Monae

They Might Be Giants

Powderfinger

The Frames

Great Lake Swimmers

The Who

Andrew Bird

Cold War Kids

Michael Buble ft. Shania Twain

Leave a Reply

