Music on Monday DOUBLE FEATURE: Welcome and Love Is Art

Last week my sister-in-law Julie was here. And it was so lovely. Lovely watching my daughter fall in love with her aunt. Lovely watching a brother and sister love each other. Lovely having another loving pair of hands and a friend to laugh with. Added bonus: we swapped music from our iTunes and now I have about 50 new songs to groove on. And because it’s not technically Monday anymore and in case you are suffering from a post-holiday let-down, I take from that list and give you two songs.

Hey Rosetta!’s ‘Welcome’ is basically the most amazing ode that a parent ever wrote a child. It’s so full of love that when you listen to it the love will pour in, fill you up, and pour out in the form of tears. Last week this song came on during dinner and Dave literally wept. Twice. While eating. (But he would want me to tell you that he prefers the electric version because ‘it adds urgency to the song’)

For this hard ride
They’ll be strapping you on
All the ups and downs and you can’t get off
Yes trouble, we’re handing it off
And you’ve got to do better than us
It’ll be alright
You’ve got lots of time
Got your daddy’s love
Everything you want
I can feel you and what you’re gonna be
You’ll be stronger, you’ll be smarter than me
Oh baby, I’ll say it again
You’re the most incredible thing

‘Love is Art’ by Said the Whale is my personal favorite from the new songs Julie added to our stockpile. I love the drums, I love the bridge (SO MUCH) and I want to sing this song while dancing wildly around my kitchen with the baby and Dave and whoever else wants to join as long as they are holding a tambourine or a maracas or something.

M.O.M. Past:

Sarah Harmer

Timbaland ft. The Hives

Rene and Jeremy

Elvis Perkins in Dearland

Brendan Benson

The White Stripes

Janelle Monae

They Might Be Giants

Powderfinger

The Frames

Great Lake Swimmers

The Who

Andrew Bird

Cold War Kids

Michael Buble ft. Shania Twain

Butterfly Boucher

One thought on “Music on Monday DOUBLE FEATURE: Welcome and Love Is Art

Leave a Reply

