Music On Monday: Breakdown

First thing you should know is: I LOVE JACK JOHNSON. I do. I love every single song he sings. I know that’s not particularly cool or hip or interesting but sometimes music is good simply because it FEELS GOOD. In these days of hipster-mania it’s like you have to have discovered an artist busking on the street in order for them to be worthy of enjoying. Newsflash hipsters: popular music is popular, often, because it is fun, easy to listen to, and catchy. I’m not saying it’s the most interesting artistry, but I am saying liking it makes you a normal, loveable human being that enjoys enjoyment for the sake of the thing.

When I am in a bad mood or things aren’t going well, I often seek a musical pick me up. Dave will see me fumbling with the iPod and say ‘Jackie-J?’ (that’s what we call him, he likes it) and I’ll say ‘he can fix this.’ And he can. Anyone with a ukulele can solve my problems, that’s how small they are.

This week was pretty awful. Started with the baby falling ill on Monday, getting slightly better, getting much worse, and then finally getting slowly better again. I’m starting a fund where I collect all my loose change and pool it together for plane fare for one of our mothers should this ever happen again. Having a sick baby is exhausting. Plus we fell ill ourselves. Plus I don’t know what anyone is saying to me at the doctor’s office except for that one nurse who insinuated I wasn’t dressing my child warmly enough but don’t worry I killed her with a bunch of eye-daggers.

‘Breakdown’ is one of my favorite Jackie-J tunes and it fit well with our week. Sometimes we are forced to take things more slowly, to appreciate what we have, to try to chill the F out. I’m working on it.

M.O.M. Past:

Sarah Harmer

Timbaland ft. The Hives

Rene and Jeremy

Elvis Perkins in Dearland

Brendan Benson

The White Stripes

Janelle Monae

They Might Be Giants

Powderfinger

The Frames

Great Lake Swimmers

The Who

Andrew Bird

Cold War Kids

Michael Buble ft. Shania Twain

Butterfly Boucher

Hey Rosetta!/Said the Whale

Tracy Chapman

White Rabbits

One thought on “Music On Monday: Breakdown

  1. I know what you mean Lane. Sometimes popular music is popular because it’s good. I’m not afraid to admit that I am kind of a Taylor Swift fan. I’m soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo glad Vesper is feeling better and begging for chocolate again!

Leave a Reply

