Music On Monday: Doo Wop

Last night I went out to dinner and drinks. Girls only. No babies. All drinks included in one flat rate. So I had to get my money’s worth.

I did.

Last night that meant loud talking, so much laughing, overly enthusiastic nodding as the conversation flowed around me, in Japanese, and I pretended (possibly really believed?) that I knew what we were all talking about. Sometimes I just interject with a little ‘Nani?’, Japanese for ‘What?’ as if it were simply a matter of them repeating themselves for me to understand.

This morning this means a red wine headache and letting my child eat her breakfast running around the apartment with no pants on.

To Yuko, Ryoko, Hitomi, Jinny, Lindsay, Sachiko, Aiko, Maki, Yukina, and Ayaka, this one’s for you.

Because Dave, man do I love this man, but sometimes even a language barrier can’t ruin the feeling you get from communing with other women. And no one reminds me of the years when I first discovered my  GURL POWER as badass woman and motha, Lauryn Hill.

M.O.M. Past:

Sarah Harmer

Timbaland ft. The Hives

Rene and Jeremy

Elvis Perkins in Dearland

Brendan Benson

The White Stripes

Janelle Monae

They Might Be Giants

Powderfinger

The Frames

Great Lake Swimmers

The Who

Andrew Bird

Cold War Kids

Michael Buble ft. Shania Twain

Butterfly Boucher

Hey Rosetta!/Said the Whale

Tracy Chapman

White Rabbits

Jack Johnson

Nerina Pallot

One thought on “Music On Monday: Doo Wop

  1. I am jealous of your girl night! It being in Japanese just gives you a free pass to be totally silly and blame it on the language barrier :).
    I hear you on the feeling of female community, I work with men only and it took Mark some time to understand why I was so desperate for female company :).

Leave a Reply

