Music On Monday: Rivers and Roads

A while ago my girl Stacey posted the video of this song on my Facebook wall. And I loved it. Then forgot about it. Then this blogger posted another song from The Head and the Heart in his weekly musical installment. And I ran to iTunes and bought the album. And was reminded of this song. And it all fell into place.

This week we’re saying goodbye to another season, another place, another group of people we’ve grown to love.

A year from now we’ll all be gone, All our friends will move away

There are some wonderful aspects of this lifestyle. The travel, the shared experiences, the summers off. The chance to meet people who I’d otherwise never have set eyes upon. But it can be very lonely, for how social it is. It can be isolating, for how intense the bonds often are.

We spend 7 or 8 months a year missing those we’ve left back home(s). During those months we make new relationships. You settle into a routine and feel a closeness that is special and unique. All the while knowing that when we say ‘See you later’ at the end of the season it’s likely we mean ‘See you never again.’

Been talking bout the way things change, And my family lives in a different state, And if you don’t know what to make of this, Then we will not relate

This cycle used to be much harder on me. Or maybe I just didn’t have the same perspective I have now. I used to cry when I said goodbye. Now I just smile and hug and hope that this time it’s the exception and I do see you again soon.

The consolation to the melancholy of our departure from our hockey-seasonal home is the ecstasy of a reunion back home-home. The long-awaited moment where I squeeze my dogs, smell my mom’s perfume, see my best friend’s smile and have whispered night-time talks with my sister.

Rivers and roads, Rivers and roads, Rivers ’til i reach you       

M.O.M. Past:

Sarah Harmer

Timbaland ft. The Hives

Rene and Jeremy

Elvis Perkins in Dearland

Brendan Benson

The White Stripes

Janelle Monae

They Might Be Giants

Powderfinger

The Frames

Great Lake Swimmers

The Who

Andrew Bird

Cold War Kids

Michael Buble ft. Shania Twain

Butterfly Boucher

Hey Rosetta!/Said the Whale

Tracy Chapman

White Rabbits

Jack Johnson

Nerina Pallot

Lauryn Hill

Propogandhi

AKB48

The Zolas

Florence + The Machine

The Tragically Hip

2 thoughts on “Music On Monday: Rivers and Roads

    1. Thanks for the well wishes Dominick! 🙂 They made it to game 4 (best of 5) in the final series but lost in overtime! Disappointing, but still exciting since they were never expected to make it so far!

Leave a Reply

