Levity

Dave is leaving. Today. For Japan. Without us. And I don’t know when we’ll be joining him. Or whether the dogs will be with us. And I’m sad and worried and feeling so guilty about it all.

We took a walk with V to the book store so Dave could find a couple of magazines for the flight. We were putting on a brave face but acting very ho-hum. Then this happened.

::man walks into the store::

clerk: Hey there! Let me know if I can help you with anything!

guy: Well, you know what? Last night I ate the hottest jalapeno. All the way from Kansas. My Aunt Karen grows them.

clerk: Yea?

guy: My throat is STILL burning.

clerk: That’s cool man.

We had to leave the store muffling laughter. Because that would just be rude. The poor man’s throat was BURNING for crying out loud.

Leave a Reply

