Moms are Fun (I Have Photographic Evidence)

It went down like this.

I put on a dress. Some makeup. Heels. Picked up my best friend and drove to a wedding reception. I had 1 cupcake, 1 sip of (probably boxed) red wine, 2 waters and danced to the tune of 4 songs. I chatted with friends and laughed and let strangers touch my belly. I was home by 10:30pm and I had a LOVELY time.IMG_0829

And that, for me, is the balance of my life having kid(s). From a social person who preferred to socialize in pajama pants 5/7 nights before kids to the same person but make that 7/7 nights, I do still enjoy the occasional outing. Preferably with dancing. I love my friends and putting the straightening iron to my hair. And when the rest of the wedding was just ramping up I am fine with winding down. I came home with my feet still in tact, my dress clean and my girl waiting.DSC_2854

5 thoughts on “Moms are Fun (I Have Photographic Evidence)

  1. I have one problem with this post: straightening iron? WHY???

    Mark and I went out the other night (his parents are visiting) and got home at 1am. Probably for the first time in 6 years I didn’t feel the urge to rush home. Kissing their sleeping faces when we got home made the evening perfect, I totally get what you are talking about.

    1. 1am WOOOOOOOT! I did that once last year, was at karaoke until 2am and MAN did I feel it the next day but MAN did I have fun! 🙂

      And yes! Straightening iron! About twice a year! Feels like my alter ego! 🙂

  2. I totally get coming home at 10:30. Mothers do know how to have fun and not get too carried away…unless there is a nap nanny around! haha

Leave a Reply

