Blisters Nine Months From Now

my sister: I think I have to run a marathon

me: No. You can’t. Because then I have to.

sister: How about next summer? I just feel like I should.

me: I guess? Ick.

sister: Let’s do a nice flat one. Google that. ‘Flattest marathon.’

me: That’s one strategy.

sister: What’s flat around here? Chicago? Or we could to the Marquette one.

me: Chicago is too many people. Is Green Bay flat? Because we could do that and then just eat at Olive Garden for hours.

sister: How about this? I’m going for a run. If I can do 6 miles today, we sign up for a marathon. That’s logical right ?

me: No.

sister: I think we should just pick one. And sign up. Let’s just pick one, sign up, and do it. I’m doing it. Are you doing it?

me: I literally have human being inside my body right now. And before any of this it has to get out. Can I just push this out first and then we can talk about it?

We’re in negotiations, but this one in Duluth is our top candidate. It is still moral support if I only run half as far, right?

7 thoughts on “Blisters Nine Months From Now

  1. Pretty amazing. You saw my response on Twitter I’m sure. I can’t wait to see if you guys decide to do this!

    PS- I clicked the link to Duluth and that is one straight course! I think I would get bored running straight for 26 miles but who knows, don’t knock it ’til you try it!

    1. That’s interesting Dominick! When my sister and I were looking at it we liked that it was straight out like that and no looping, etc. It’s all along Lake Superior so that helps. πŸ™‚ Feel like coming to see the greatest freshwater lake in the world with a dose of midwest hospitality? πŸ™‚ Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. You can do anything Lane. The question is only do you want to? By the way the Manitoba Marathon in June is very flat and I’m thinking I’ll run the half again. Is Ally up for a Manitoba road trip?

    1. I definitely want to do the Half, and I figure by doing some of the full training with my sister I can help support her AND set myself up for a reall good time on the half! Not sure if she is up for that or not, but you could always meet us for a girl weekend in Duluth? πŸ™‚

  3. Do it! Actually… No. Boo. Training for fulls takes time… Good to check it off the list though! I LOVE checking things off the “list”. Bucket list, grocery list, any list really… I will watch children while you both are out running for hours and hours… πŸ™‚

  4. That’s hilarious! Hey your life is already a traveling circus, right? πŸ™‚ Why not add a marathon? Most marathons have a half marathon as a part of the same day. Tell your sis you’ll do the half. The training is a lot less time consuming!

Leave a Reply

