Celebrating Love

It’s Valentine’s Day. And it seems like this holiday with a rather grotesque back story, a overwhelmingly hetero-normative message, and a commercialization that knows no bounds gets some people’s back up. They boycott the day and disparage the celebration. And while I get what can be annoying about such holidays for people who are single or don’t like clutter or do not enjoy chocolate, in my opinion it’s a case of if you can’t beat them, join them. Take from what’s good and run with it. Not only am I in love with my husband, we are in love with our girls. With life. And living.

Dave is in China this year for Valentine’s Day. And I honestly don’t remember where he was last year. I remember we made a craft with Vesper using cut outs of our hand prints to spell I Love You in sign and her footprints to make a heart. We celebrated with chocolate, I’m sure, because we celebrate like that daily. And that’s it.

This year V has been doing some crafts this week leading up to V-Day. We read a Valentine themed book about a dragon. And then she asked if we could do a Valentine photo shoot. Of course, I’ve got nothing but time.

She currently LOVES looking at images of herself. Preferably with her mouth open and all her teeth exposed. She thinks it’s hilarious. And isn’t it? And with sneaking mom skills I’ve acquired, I got a few shots of her not looking insane.

Then we edited the pictures. She’d say ‘make it brighter! make me bigger! shine us up!’ Why can’t Valentine’s Day be as simple as this? Loving my girls, doing what we love, watching them fall in love together.

DSC_0550 DSC_0551 DSC_0553 DSC_0557 DSC_0558 DSC_0560 DSC_0565 DSC_0568 DSC_0570 DSC_0576 DSC_0577 DSC_0588 DSC_0589 DSC_0592

One thought on “Celebrating Love

Leave a Reply

